The Kākā by Bernard Hickey
The Kākā by Bernard Hickey
The week that was for the week's end
1
0:00
-48:06

The week that was for the week's end

Jenee Tibshraeny and I take a 'hoon' around the Reserve Bank's tightening of lending restrictions, its likely move on August 18 to start hiking rates and the immense stresses on the immigration system
1

TLDR & TLDL: Jenee Tibshraeny and I take a 'hoon' (plural of Kākā) around the Reserve Bank's tightening of lending restrictions, its likely move on August 18 to start hiking rates and the immense stresses on the immigration system.

In Monday’s Dawn Chorus, I reported on the Human Rights Commission’s creation of an official inquiry into the failures of recent governments to provide for “the right to a decent home under section 5(2) of the Human Rights Act”.

In Tuesday’s Dawn Chorus, I took a deeper look at all the levers the Government could be pulling if it was responding to the housing catastrophe in the same way the first Labour Government did.

In Wednesday’s Dawn Chorus, I showed how the Reserve Bank’s latest move to tighten lending restrictions would hit first home buyers hardest.

In Thursday’s Dawn Chorus, I challenged the group-think of an increasingly isolated economic and financial community saying wage inflation is raging and the Reserve Bank needs to act urgently to tighten monetary policy dramatically and quickly.

As discussed when I launched The Kākā almost a year ago, I’ll be making it a paid subscription email newsletter from September 20. I’ll be making this weekend ‘hoon’ available to all current free subscribers, but the daily Dawn Chorus emails and invitations to special ‘hoon’ webinars will only be for paying subscribers. I will be charging $19/month or $190/year per subscriber.

1 Comment
The Kākā by Bernard Hickey
The Kākā by Bernard Hickey
Bernard Hickey and friends explore the political economy together.