Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript
29

Solutions Interview: Steven Hail on MMT & ecological economics

Torrens Uni Associate Prof Steven Hail is holding a two-day seminar in Auckland on August 10-11 I'll be attending. I'm curious to find about more about Modern Monetary Theory & ecological economics
29

TL;DR: I’m casting around for new ideas and ways of thinking about Aotearoa’s political economy to find a few solutions to our cascading and self-reinforcing housing, poverty and climate crises.

Associate Professor

runs an online masters degree in the economics of sustainability at Torrens University in Australia and is organising a two-day seminar in Auckland Tāmaki Makaurau on the weekend of August 10-11, which I’m attending. Here’s the detail and his announcement via X.

I wanted to find out a bit more about the course and these ideas, which are very different to what I was taught in my economics classes and the way that most economists and financial boffins still talk about both the economy and way we interact with the planet.

Here’s the full interview above and there’s a text transcript, which you’re all welcome to read. Rather than give my view, it’s worth reading and listening for yourself, in part because I’m still in the exploration stage.

Enjoy! And I look forward to meeting any fellow attendees.

Cheers

Bernard

29 Comments
The Kākā by Bernard Hickey
The Kākā by Bernard Hickey
Bernard Hickey and friends explore the political economy together.